## **MAGIP Education Committee Meeting**

## February 27, 2013

Members attending: Stephanie Chamberlain, Chris Bardash, Van Shelhamer, Gerry Daumiller (chair), Meghan Burns

The committee decided that one subcommittee of three or four people should be sufficient to review applications for the \$2,000 Higher Education Scholarship and for the two \$1,000 K-12 grants. Van, Chris, and Stephanie volunteered to be on to subcommittee. Stuart Challender of MSU informed Gerry earlier that he was willing to serve on the committee, and Gerry will invite him. Chris announced that he is moving to Texas in April, and the committee agreed to let him serve on the subcommittee remotely. Gerry will send the grant evaluation documents from last year to the subcommittee members.

The committee reviewed the progress report from Chester Joplin Inverness High School on their K-12 grant, which is available on the Education Committee web page. The teacher, Gail Shatkus, has received the grant funds and will use them to attend training for PacificCAD in March. Gail has indicated a possible willingness to present their projects at the Fall Technical Session in December or the Intermountain GIS Conference in April 2014. The committee agreed to request funding from the Board to assist them in attending the conference. The amount needed will be determined after planning for the Fall Technical Session is underway and a decision on which meeting the presentations should be at is decided.

Gerry announced that Heather Almquist of the Montana Geographic Alliance has started working on selecting educational activities that could be supported by the geospatial trunks. The MGA web site has a link to a Google Docs account where these have been posted and comments may be made. The trunk that was at the State Library was sent to Heather at the end of November.

Gerry asked for nominations for a new committee chair (and Board of Directors member) to serve for one year beginning in May. Meghan nominated Wendy Largent and Van seconded the nomination. The committee was unanimous in approving Wendy as the next chair.